Career Counselling

IAS preliminary exam new pattern

Many of us want to appear in the prestigious exam and one of the most difficult exam called “civil services”.
Let us discuss about it:
To clear civil services, one has to pass to three steps:
a) Preliminary exam
b) Main exam (for candidates who clear preliminary exam)
c) Interview (for candidates who clear main exam).

Today I will discuss about the preliminary exam only:
From 2011, the pattern and syllabus of preliminary exam of civil services is going to be changed.
The Preliminary Examination  will consist of two papers of objective type carrying a maximum of 200 marks for each paper.
Paper 1
Duration : Two hours

  • History of India and Indian national movement
  • Current events of national and international importance
  • Indian and World Geography- physical, social, economic geography of India and the world
  • Indian Politics and governance – constitution, political system, panchayati raj, public policy, Rights issues, etc.
  • Economic and social development – sustainable development, poverty, inclusion, demographics, social sector initiatives etc.
  • General issues on environmental ecology, bio-diversity and climate change-that donot require subject specialization
  • General science.

Paper 2

Duration : Two hours


  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision making and problem solving
  • General mental ability
  • Comprehension
  • Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  • Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency etc.)
  • English language comprehension skills (Class X level)

Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT)
There will be a test to check the mental ability of candidates. This test will be called as Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT).  No changes are there in the Civil Services (Main) Examination and Personality Test in the scheme of Civil Services Examination (CSE).

Share and Like article, please: